Clearing Direct Message Option

Kommentare

223 Kommentare

  • Anime Boi

    Everyone please view the new edited post. I meant to say something completely different.

    -2
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Fangur [Dro Mszrob]
    You can do this on the computer by hovering the conversation and clicking de smallx
    -2
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Jim B

    This is a long thread and clearly a user concern.  I have noticed that in group DMs (3 or more)  it is possible to remove a user from the group DM.  In personal 1 to 1 type DMs this feature seems to be absent. 

    Perhaps an implementation of this clean slate feature would be feasible by treating 1 to 1 DMs as a group DM (albeit just with two users).  A clean slate could be achieved by removing the partner user then leaving yourself. If this feature was available, it surely would not be a burden for the API or database activity. 

    -2
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • thecrazygamemaster

    Time is an investment. Ease of access and ease of execution are important things to take into account. If you keep the task of clearing a significant amount of time's data a gargantuan effort (or high with a script) as it is now, those who wish to do it nefariously will be less inclined. I agree with Amacita on this. If you want to delete your content you should have to do it slowly.

    -2
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Homie Box
    Why would that be needed?
    -2
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • sgt_4hed

    https://support.discordapp.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360032888232/comments/360008624512

    You clearly dont know enough about GDPR... because if you did, then you would know your statement is a complete crock of horse shit lol

    -2
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Matthew

    I see no reason why this is needed other than abuse..

     

    Lets say you spammed someone with instant invites (not saying you would, but there are some people, unfortunately), and they were going to report you to trust and safety. click. Boom. Evidence is gone and this person will get away with doing what they did

    -3
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Ceus

    To be honest, they could keep all the data. I don't really care about that. I care more about being able to delete it from my clients. All they'd have to do is add a "hidden" column in their database (as an example), and anything deleted gets marked as "hidden" so that they can retain the information.

    It's an invasion of privacy, but most large companies don't care. We are in the era of invasion of privacy.

    -5
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Veritius

    It's called closing the window or just... deleting the messages

    -6
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • Matthew

    No.

    -13
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • chloroform chloe

    1. A relationship on discord.
    2. An abusive relationship on discord?
    3. What?
    4. Block the user
    5. Just block then click the x near their dm name and they are never found again
    6. Abusers statistically care about privacy and only abuse in privacy to prevent external prevention, studies support it.
    7. See 4 and 5.

    -29
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • ISAACBEST777

    This would enable bad people to do bad things and easily get away with it, removing any evidence quickly. So I say no.

    -35
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink
  • ISAACBEST777

    The problem I see with this is on the other side, if someone DOES spam me with nasty things, I want evidence, to be able to have them banned ect. but if they can just spam, and then shortly there after delete EVERYTHING all at once without me being able to even catch a screen shot, then discord will have no way of doing anything at all.

    This is particularly dangerous feature, one can easily delete messages in a server with bots and simply close a dm, if it's that big an issue. But allowing trolls and sexual predators to clear all their evidence away instantly is a bad idea.

    -36
    Aktionen für Kommentare Permalink

Bitte melden Sie sich an, um einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen.