Menu

Help Center

How do I delete a channel?

Follow

Comments

49 comments

  • Avatar
    Meridian

    Step 2 should be appended that you must be on the Overview tab of the channel settings window in order to see the trash icon, as Discord remembers the last tab you were on (in my case: permissions).

  • Avatar
    Aylani

    I cannot see the trash icon :(

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Aylani make sure you're not in the #general channel! It won't appear in that one. =]

  • Avatar
    nukeforum

    How can I switch which channel I want to be considered "general"?

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @nukeforum You'll always have the general channel in your server, but you can rename it in the overview tab.

  • Avatar
    nukeforum

    @Cilantrelle Yes, but how do I switch which channel is designated as the default do-not-delete channel? I can rename #general to whatever I want, but it's still designated as the default. How do I change that setting?

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @nukeforum there's not really any "default" channel, but the #general just takes on the additional detail of not being able to be deleted. If you want to make a welcome portal, you can check out the "advanced community server setup" article. That one's a bit more detailed, though.

  • Avatar
    coopy

    Is there a way to see message archives for a deleted channel? If not, I'll create a feature request.

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Coopy Nope, not at the moment. =[ Definitely a good feature request to shoot over to feedback.discordapp.com.

  • Avatar
    Merkuri

    Please, make general channel deletable or at least give me option to set default general channel.

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @merkuri it'll help us a bunch if you could suggest it over at feedback.discordapp.com!

  • Avatar
    DIAMOND POWER EU
    I wish to delete the holy server but cannot find were to do it
  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle
    @Diamond Power EU check out the "delete a server" article, specifically for that. =]
  • Avatar
    G0DLESS
    need to be able to clear chat history or at least change default chat channel so i can delete
  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle
    @Caliginous we've got a chat clear coming! Be sure to upvote it over at feedback.discordapp.com.
  • Avatar
    nammmmers

    Why can't we delete the #general channel? If not, why can't we check the "Read Messages" for the #general change?? I've re-purposed it to Announcements...

  • Avatar
    Mongbat25

    I made a channel which now has no setting icon beside it and no trash can to delete it what other way do I use to delete this?

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Mongbat25 if you don't see the channel settings icon (the cog highlighted earlier in the article), then the server owner has denied you the edit channels permission.

  • Avatar
    Mongbat25

    @Cilantrelle as admin of the server I think I accidently removed admin manage channel options does this mean that only the owner of the server can delete that channel now? thank you for answer/advice btw :)

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Mongbat25 yup, that's the case, unfortunately. You'll have to have the server owner re-enable the permissions or nuke the channel themselves.

  • Avatar
    Zei

    What if you ARE the server owner? The whole cog is gone for me.

  • Avatar
    antyanthony

    Im wondering that, i think i accidently locked myself out of a voice chat settings when trying to set one up, cuz the gear icon is gone for me, and as far as im aware i have the same ranking as the server owner on there :/

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Aeonspark you should be able to see the cog especially if you're the server owner.

    @antyanthony it's possible to lock yourself out of a channel setting if you disable permissions for your role. You'll need the server owner to fix it.

  • Avatar
    nammmmers

    How do I remove myself from this thread so that I no longer receive email notifications?

  • Avatar
    Zei

    I am the owner of the server and one of my channels is missing the cog entirely. On mobile and desktop. The moment I clicked to the X in @everyone "Manage Permissions" or "Manage Channel" (can't remember), it no longer allowed me to edit anything, including to click off the X. All I could do was close the dialog box, and then the cog was gone. It's been a few days (and therefore a few restarts of the applications) and the problem persists. I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere else online. Any ideas?

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Time If you deny yourself permissions (unfortunately easy to do if you edit the wrong permission), you'll lock yourself out. You'll have to have your server owner help you out here.

  • Avatar
    Zei

    I have stated numerous times that I AM the server owner and I am locked out. Please help me! :/

  • Avatar
    Cilantrelle

    @Time it's not possible to lock yourself out of a channel if you're the server owner. Can you shoot me an invite to the server here?

  • Avatar
    cutterchaz

    This is entirely possible, I've just done it.
    If you click on the cog, go onto Permissions on the chat channel and press "Manage Permissions", the first one that appears is the red X which automatically locks you out of editing perms for this channel or deleting it.

Article is closed for comments.